Retrospection

musashi.gif

I couldn’t sleep last night. It was almost 4 a.m. before I managed to doze off. For about two hours of that time was spent reading (or rather rereading) Leon Uris’ Trinity. A passage stuck in my mind:

…And is not lost : the inconquerable will,

And a study of revenge, immortal hate,

And courage never to submit or yield,

And what is else not to overcome?

It led me to contemplate the direction in which my training is heading. Or, in which I wish to lead it. A lot has been said. But what does it all really mean. My own method of training comes into question. My late godfather, god bless his soul, taught me this prayer: Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change those I can, and the wisdom to know the difference. It doesn’t really matter to me whether it’s a Christian, Jewish, Muslim or Buddhist prayer. What matters is it’s essence. That simple yet powerful prayer embodies man’s spirit. The spirit that surrenders to the inevitable, yet plough through the insurmountable at the same time. Sometimes the soul becomes weary with all the nonsense man plays with his brethren. Yet we plough on.

My three children trains under me, the fourth barely a year old, looks at his 2 sisters and brother with interest whenever they put their gi on. Whatever their weakness, is my shortcoming as an instructor. I am not a wealthy man, this I admit. What do I have to leave them, besides an unbiased understanding of this noble art? I hope that they have at least an understanding that the ‘Do’ is not a static entity. Like all arts, it evolves. Hopefully, one day, one of my children will teach others the ‘Do’.

Leave a Reply

